Board of Directors

The Food Council Nominating Committee selects and appoints nine representatives for one- and two-year long terms as Montgomery County Food Council Board Members.

Wendy Nevett Bazil

Policy Committee; Co-Chair, Racial Equity Committee

Rick Chessen

Elisa Gonzalez, Ph.D.


Mike Houston


Evelyn Kelly

Kimberley McBride

Board Chair

Joan Schaffer

Jessica Josephine Synkoski

Carmen Poston Travis

Vice Chair

Council Members

Mary Bennett

Lisa Büttner

Marla Caplon, R.D., L.D.

Rebecca Chavez

Cristin Cooper

Anh Doan

Kelly Doordan

Jennifer Freeman

Johanna Mendelson Forman, PhD

Monica Goldberg

Mike Houston

Daniela Hurtado

Nancy Brenowitz Katz, MS, RDN

Gabriela Massie

Angie McCarthy

Kate Medina

Amanda Nesher

Vanessa Pierre

Shaun Sawko, MS, RD/N

Sara Servin

Netta Squires JD, MSL, CEM

Lynn Rubin Traversa

Paul Tukey

Angela Whitmal

Alumni Members

The Alumni Circle provides Food Council alums with a unique opportunity to continue to make a difference in the Montgomery County food system by staying connected to the Food Council’s efforts and serving as trusted advisors to the organization. Alumni Circle members will also have the opportunity to continue to benefit from the Food Council’s broad and deep network of subject matter experts, food system partners, and stakeholders.

Eleni Antzoulatos

Jenny Brown

Jackie DeCarlo

Jim Dempsey

Susan Eisendrath

Sharon Feuer Gruber

Mark Hodge

Thu Huynh

Dave Lambert

Kathy Madaleno

Jerry Martin

Tessa Mork

Aizat Oladapo

Shelley Rae Rudick

Tanya Spandhla

Dick Stoner

Susan Topping

Jenna Umbriac

Bart Yablonsky

Upcoming Events

Aug 25

Foodie Fridays: The People’s Medicine, August 25th 630-830pm

Learn more

Sep 5

Equitable Land Access Working Group Meeting

Learn more

Sep 22

Foodie Fridays: Saving Seeds and Stories, September 22nd 630-830pm

Learn more

Sep 27

Food System Advocacy Community Call

Learn more

Sep 28

2023 MoCo Made Food & Beverage Expo

Learn more

Oct 6

Tour Community FarmShare Farm-based Aggregation Site with MoCo Food Council

Learn more

Oct 10

Food Security Community Call

Learn more

Oct 19

Increased Local Food Procurement

Learn more

Oct 25

Food System Advocacy Community Call

Learn more

Oct 26

Gardening Subcommittee

Learn more

Oct 26

Montgomery County’s Third Summit on Aging

Save the date for Montgomery County’s Summit on Aging! The event will take place Thursday, Oct. 26 in person at the Silver Spring Civic Building.

Learn more

Oct 27

Foodie Fridays: Food is Freedom, October 27th 630-830pm

Learn more

Nov 13

Food Security Community Call

Learn more

Nov 22

Food System Advocacy Community Call

Learn more

Dec 11

Food Security Community Call

Learn more