Introducing Seven New Council Members!

The Montgomery County Food Council is pleased to announce that seven new members have been selected to join the Food Council. These new members possess a wealth of expertise in local food issues and have demonstrated a commitment to improving the food system in Montgomery County. The new members include food security, nutrition, and health experts, a data analyst, food retail industry professionals, and community organizers. Their two-year terms will begin in January 2019. The new members are:

    Michelle Caruso, Program Manager, Institute for Public Health Innovation

Ben Fulgencio-Turner, Director of Coverage and Connections, Primary Care Coalition of Montgomery County

Mike Houston, General Manager, Takoma Park Silver Spring Co-Op

Karina Lora, Visiting Assistant Professor, Department of Exercise and Nutrition Science, George Washington University

Thomas Tippett, Performance Management and Data Analyst, Montgomery County Office of the County Executive

Susan Topping, Senior Director of Partners and Programs, Capital Area Food Bank

Morgan Wiggan, Farmers Market Program Manager, Crossroads Community Food Network

The seven new members join eighteen returning members on a twenty-five member board that provides leadership and guidance on how the County can address challenges and seize new opportunities in order to become a leader in innovative, sustainable food system development. Members also facilitate one of the Council’s four Working Groups (Environmental Impact, Food Economy, Food Education, and Food Recovery and Access), which are subcommittees open to the public focused on addressing specific components of the local food system, or serve on a Council internal management committee. Click here to learn more about our new and returning Council Members.

The Food Council thanks the following outgoing members for their dedication, commitment and leadership over the years:

  • Jonathan Copeland
  • Eileen Dykes, Registered Dietician Nutritionist (Food Education Co-Chair)
  • Mark Hodge, Deputy Health Officer, Montgomery County Department of Health and Human Services (Steering Committee Vice Chair)
  • Sasha Hollister
  • Sophia Maroon, Founder, Dress it Up Dressing, and CEO, SoFine Food
  • Sarah Miller, Director of Strategic Initiatives, Montgomery County Economic Development Corporation (Steering Committee Treasurer)
  • Carole Sugarman, Food Writer, Bethesda Magazine (Food Economy Co-Chair)
Food Council Board Chair Sharon Feuer Gruber thanked those that have served on the Council and welcomed the new members. “We are extremely grateful for the valuable contributions that our outgoing Council Members have made toward advancing the mission of the Food Council. We welcome our new Council Members to continue the work of cultivating a robust, sustainable, local food system in Montgomery County. The food systems expertise and diversity of perspectives that they bring to the Council will benefit residents across the county.”